jump to navigation

Sew It : Bag November 11, 2009

Posted by preeta pillai in Sew it - Sewing.
trackback

YEY….!!  YEY!!!….. I have done it. 

 

 

 DSCN5124 DSCN5111 DSCN5124

After missing last time’s sew it, due to my lap top problems, When I got my  back my laptop I was eagerly waiting for this week’s sew it feature. This time Mayya had featured a lovely bag, and I desperately wanted to make this one.

But with my limited sewing skills, I was confused at some places Thanks Mayya, your forum  and motivation really helped me.

This tutorial in from The Margaret Bag by Elizabeth from Oh Fransson.

I din’t have any flannel with me neither did I have a soft fusible interfacing, and to be very honest I was hesitant to use my cherished materials since I was worried how it would turn out. So I have just used a simple grey cotton cloth for the main body and the lining  is a black cotton material, and since I had a stiff interfacing with me, I ironed on the stiff interfacing only at the base of the bag on the main material. The button is a small crochet motif that I had made with a bead attached to it.

DSCN5120

But now I am confident, and I will surely make one with some bright color material and this time I will definitely add a fusible fleece. 

My friend’s daughter Ananya, modeling for my bag. The sling is a little long for her though. ( The snaps are a little dark.. sorry about that.) 

DSCN5117 DSCN5118

Thanks Mayya once again for all your support. I am waiting to see what others have done. And eagerly waiting for your next Sew it feature Mayya.

Till then its bye from Preeta.

Comments»

1. Zura - November 11, 2009

Hi Preeta! Yeay, you did it! And your bag looks fabulous! I especially love the crochet flower, the red gives a stunning bold contrast to the overall look of the bag. Great job! Hope to sew together again in future Sew It 🙂

preeta pillai - November 11, 2009

Thanks Zura for that encouragement, I know there is a lot more to be done on that bag , and the next one I make will surely be perfect.

2. Mayya @ Sew Chic and Unique - November 11, 2009

YAY you did it!
I am so proud of you for not giving up and finishing it!
It looks great, but i think with this type of material it would need the fusible interfacing to give it some shape!
WELL DONE Preeta!

3. Let’s feature it: Margaret Bag « Sew Chic and Unique - November 11, 2009

[…] her blog for more pics of th bag, i love the crotchet button! so […]

Preeta - November 11, 2009

Thanks a lot Mayya, Next time I will use fusible interfacing, I really want to make a nice one,now that I am confident.

4. Nima - November 11, 2009

oh…this looks awesome preeta….beautiful finishing. i can’t wait to see it….wow…the crochet floral button looks cute.
ananya looks pretty too…

Preeta - November 12, 2009

Thanx Nima, I did have a challenging time making it, but I dint want to give up. Missing u around.


Leave a Reply

